top of page
Search
  • nkhan183

Final year in a pandemic…

‘COVID-19 has left me with mixed emotions entering my final year at University’.


On March 23rd, the government ordered a full-scale lockdown in the UK. Continuing my life and assuming it would be over until my final year but, that did not seem to happen. still studying through a pandemic in my final year was not something I ever thought I would ever go through in my 1st year of university. But non the less life does not stop for anything or anybody and that was something COVID taught us all. I continued studying away, however working from home with my part time job, a joint family and home chores has quite been a task. Also, the person I am I find it quite difficult to study at home, I prefer to go into the university studios/ library and get out of the house.

All degrees are hard from each other but course such as architecture and architectural technology ask for much more time, space, and additional learning. And not being able to access software’s early on in my final year such as Revit and photoshop was extremely hard. I was unable to practice and use these software’s until I requested my university, that I wish to access them from home.


As the weeks have gone by, I have learnt to appreciate what I have right now and how fortunate I am compared to others who have been horribly affected by COVID-19. My worries about not seeing my friends and other social activities seemed so small as being in lockdown became the norm. Although I argue with my siblings most of the day, I am so lucky to have them as it means I have company and I am not alone.

My personal journey has not been any different, we are all trying to get through it and continue our life as normal as it can ever be. Therefore, with some adaptable changes I have tried to go through this year more efficiently. Such as time management – organising my timetable for university work, part time work, home chores and giving time to my family all is carried out under my best ability. I do not want this pandemic to take a toll in my career that will be something I will carry on doing all my life. Therefore, I will enjoy my final year and understand what must be done in the correct way which will help me to be more positive with life. This will definitely be a year I will always remember.





4 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page